Wear Pants to Church Day…

In light of this super “controversial” movement that went through the Church of Jesus Christ of  Latter Day Saints (LDS), I will comment on some things that I have seen (mostly from one women’s blog post on Mormon Scholars Testify). Before I begin my statements a few things that I say will probably anger some people (if anyone actually reads this). May I remind everyone that I am allowed my own opinion and encourage open and logical discussion. I will not reply or approve any hateful or other wise malicious comments made on this post.

So if you haven’t heard. There was a campaign on the book of faces about wearing pants to church on December 16, 2012. The campaign claims that the church has never discouraged women not to wear pants since the 1970’s (yay go feminism) . The movement was to simply encourage the notion to wear pants if you saw fit. The movement was attempting to advocate for equally for all in their faith (I commend them for that). My issues rise not because of this movement but because of doctrine that I have discovered while reading up on the faith in light of some facebook posts by friends.

Doctrines I have issue with:

1. A heavenly father and mother (I don’t comment on this in my dialogue below)

2. Eve did not sin

3. Eve was rewarded for her actions ( so labor is a good thing… there is an argument that this is what allowed her to bare children. I will not comment because the Bible doesn’t indicate if she had the ability to bare children before the fall or after)

4. The fall of man was a blessing and foreordained.

5. Eve is not a derivative of Adam (this doesn’t matter to me doctrinally just is not what is said in Genesis 2: 21-22 “And the Lord God caused a deep sleep to fall on Adam, and he slept; and He took one of his ribs, and closed up the flesh in its place. Then the rib which the Lord God had taken from man He made into a woman..”)

5. I am not sure how to put this eloquently… We are little spirit babies in Heaven and for some reason we have to come to Earth just to go back to Heaven (I don’t have a complete understanding of this doctrine, but I think I get the jist).

6. The Reformed Gospel (here are just a few verses that make me weary of changing the Gospel from various translations)

  • “For truly I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not the smallest letter or stroke shall pass from the Law until all is accomplished.” Matthew 5:18
  • “I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book, and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book.” Rev 22:18-19
  • “Every word of God proves true; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him. Do not add to His words, lest He rebuke you and you be found a liar.” Proverbs 30:5-6

Just to keep things short and sweet… With the majority of these doctrines I have one issue. My issue is that they don’t point toward a reason for Jesus Christ. If Eve didn’t sin than why do we need Christ. If the fall was such a glorious thing what was the purpose in Christ dying for our sins. As a Christian that loves to look at all denominations and faith, when I look at another denomination I evaluate everything based on how this would effect the Gospel of Christ. The LDS church recognizes that they believe in the “Reformed Gospel”; there, one can immediately see that there will be something very different from the Gospel that I have been taught. Slight detour…Something that also bothers me is that most Mormon posts I read never quote the Bible. I just can’t wrap my head around the fact that a proclaimed Christian faith rarely uses the Bible as a source to defend their doctrines. Okay detour over.  To me if there is no purpose for Christ than there is no reason for me to be a Christian. If there is no reason to be a Christian why am I trying to follow the teachings of Christ? Is it all good deeds now to get back to Heaven (since I- as a spirit baby-decided to leave my heavenly ‘mother’ and ‘father’ for an imperfect world).

Romans 4:2 For if Abraham were justified by works, he has whereof to glory; but not before God.

2 Timothy 1:9 Who has saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace…

Romans 2:8-10 For by grace are you saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to good works, which God has before ordained that we should walk in them.

All three verses say that is not that works that save us but the grace of God that does. Even though we are created to do the good works of God the only way to be saved is through faith. This faith then should inspire one to live a life that is Christ like. It is not the other way around. Our faith sparks that need to do good things. As a Christian one should never fear when you sin for Christ died and was raised again and in doing so conquered death. It is our belief in the fact that saves us. Not the good things that we do in life. It is not a game of scales. Did I do more good than I did of bad? If it was there was no reason for Christ and we would live in fear of making sure we had the scales tipped the way of good. I do believe though that someone with true faith does good works to spread the word of the Gospel. One’s life should reflect the love of Christ and to reflect the love of Christ we must take care of the widows, orphans. We must sit and eat with the “sinners” and “tax collectors”. The unconditional love of Christ has to be and must be spread to the world. I am so thankful that I never have to worry about if I’m going to Heaven or not. I never have to worry because I am saved through my faith in Jesus Christ, my savior.

In Christ’s Love,

Erin

“My brethren,count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.” James 1:2-4

Leave a Reply

