The God Delusion

Well, I didn’t start the book that has been sitting by me all day, but I was shuffling through my text books trying to find my philosophy text book and I came across The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins. My mother gave it to me as a “Know your enemy” gift. I started to read it and decided that I would read it and write notes in the book. My notes consist of Bible verses and my notes. So far I have disgusted by the use of extremists as his only evidence against religion and God (to be specific a personal God who cares about sin and what people do). Maybe it will get better, but I highly doubt it. So far he has set up Christians, devout Jews and all muslims to be extreme, radical, crazy people. I agree that those people are out there, but I don’t think that it is the mass majority is that way. The people that just seem to yell out their feelings are the extremists so they get all the attention. I wish reasonable, religious people would be more out spoken. You can spread your faith in a way that is not intolerant and oppressive, that is not seen as shoving your beliefs down someones throat. But I’m only 28 pages into the book. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

